Dear MACRO members,

I am pleased to announce the 2005 winners of our New Teacher and Student Award honorariums.

This is the first year we have offered an award for new teachers. The award was established to honor the work of Dr. Bruce Benward. We awarded two honorariums this year. The winners are Trevor Pittman and Heather Thayer. Both Heather and Trevor teach at Eastern Michigan University. Congratulations Heather and Trevor!

Four students received MACRO student award honorariums this year. We offered a new student award this year, also to honor the work of Dr. Bruce Benward, along with our Robert Fountain Memorial honorarium.

Three students were awarded the Bruce Benward Theory/Composition award. They are Brent Moran, Carol Perry, and Michael Van Bebber. Brian Sevits was awarded our Robert Fountain honorarium. All four students attend Truman State University. Congratulations Brent, Carol, Michael, and Brian!

Just a reminder and an update on our 2005 Musician's Workshop. The dates of the workshop are June 3-4. The workshop will be held at Monona Terrace here in Madison, Wisconsin. All of the workshop information, including registration information, is included on the web site. We still have room for presentations during the poster session, so please send in your abstracts, but registrations, abstracts, and requests for travel funds are coming in earlier than usual, so if you plan on applying for travel funds please do so as soon as possible. Travel stipends for the workshop are on a first come first served basis.

Best wishes,