STEPS! Dance Parade New York's Official E-Newsletter
February 21, 2020 Issue
Inside this Issue:

Share the Love
of Dance!
 Did you already register for Dance Parade? Let us know by tagging us in your posts/stories and we will share to let the world know. Let's make Dance Parade stronger than ever before! Together is the way to make it happen, start with a click:

Dance Quote:
When you dance, your purpose is not to get to a certain place on the floor.
It's to enjoy each step
along the way.
~Wayne Dyer

Non Profit Board of Directors:
Jerry Goldman (Chair)
Nicola Creary
Shireen Dickson
Greg Miller
Philip Ribolow
Steering Commitee:
Greg Miller, Executive Director
Henya Emmer, Parade Production
Robin Schatel, Grandstand
Janelle Issis, Parade Programming
Dori Garcia, Team Coordination
Darya Mars, Project Manager
Gabriel Kutnik, Grandstand
Carlye Eckert, Education
Jamila Holman, Festival Production
Mona Freeman, Curatorial
Sherrell Whitmore, Festival
DJ McDonald, Curatorial
Rebecca Myles, Media
Audrey Ross, Media
Doug Kowlessar, Finance
Nosa Omoregie, Finance
Natalya Grigoriev, Finance (CPA)
Brian Austin, Creative
Jason Parrish, Creative
Chauncey Dandridge, Social Media
Ali Coleman, Sponsorship
Honorary Committee:
(Power Team & Grand Marshals)
Dr. Valerie Feit
Michelle DeBlasi
Mahayana Landowne
Kevin Farley
Erik Bryan Slavin
Bill T. Jones
Baayork Lee
Louis Mofsie
DJ Dara
Camille A. Brown
Mickela Mallozzi
Rafael Espinal
Doc Martin
Maurice Hines
Frankie Bones
Mestre Joao Grande
Rosie Mendez
Garth Fagan
Carmen de Lavallade
Robert Battle
Mary Verdi-Fletcher
Rekha Malhotra
Savion Glover
Jawolle Willa Jo Zollar
Hex Hector
Jacqulyn Buglisi
Baba Chuck Davis
Louie Vega
Ashley Tuttle
Elisa Monte
Bill Shannon
Trevor Hochman
Peter Zehren
Samir Bitar
Mel Alvarez
Jonathan Peters
Charles Reinhart
“Billy Elliot” (Joseph Harrington)
Kat Wildish
Amy Marshall
Jellybean Benitez
Elizabeth Zimmer
Ellenore Scott
Don Campbell "Campbellock"
Morocco (Carolina Varga Dinicu)
Luis Salgado
Kool Herc
Danny Tenaglia
Djoniba Mouflet

Advisory Board:
Jeanne Fleming
David Katz
Teddie Kern
Anil Kumar
Joseph McElroy
Tasha Blank
Sponsorship Team:
Greg Miller
Ali Coleman
DJ McDonald
Nikki Creary
Phil Ribolow
Parade Production:
Henya Emmer (Production Lead)
Janelle Issis (Programming Lead)
Robin Schatell (Grandstand Lead)
Meke Brown
Rhina Valentin
Jerry Goldman
Alan Wright 
Silvian Martinez
Zahidel Alvarado  
Frank Bator
Hal Lamster
Alan Wright
Gabriel Kutnik
Julia Johanson
May Kesler
Aaron Chase
Andrew Kemp
Bobby Speakerwire
Michelle Kirby
Carrie Hawks
Disco Mike Park
Wandalynn Miftahi
Alyssa Hampton
Daniel Kahn
Milly Rosario-Summers
Doris Martinez
Diane DeJesus
Phil Ribolow
Meke Brown
Zahidel Alvarado
Sharon Folkes
Zakeya Warren
Festival Production:
Jamila Holman (Production Lead)
Yeimis Aquino (Assistant Lead)
Mona Freeman (Curatorial Chair)
DJ McDonald
Paula Lederman
Eva Sol
Shannon Norman
Randall Hernandez
Sheila Jamison
Lorant Duzgun
Yolanda Edwards
Daniel Lee
Luis Rosas
Keith Porter
Johnathan Cedano
Ameca Holman
Franci Medrano
Alex Florencio
Jose Rivera
Edgar Vazquez
Jackie Cohen
Donnie D'Amato
Francisco Tavernes
Chinese Committee
Kate Xie (Co-Chair)
Justin Wei (Co-Chair)
Jie (Jessica) Feng
Yi Lu
Xie Zhu
Educational Outreach
Carlye Eckert (Chair)
Jacque Colburn
Shireen Dickson
Jamee Schliefer

Doug Kowlessar (Chair)
Nosa Omoregie
JoAnne Bute
Natalya Grigoriev

Victoria Behr
Carmen Casado
Jerry Goldman
David Leventhal
Paul Llewellyn
Kaye Scholer LLP

Greg Miller
Brian Austin
Jason Parrish
Rengim Mutevellioglu
Amanda Alston
Media & Promotions Team:
Rebecca Myles
Audrey Ross
Nhadyr Reyes Cardenas
Chauncey Dandridge
Josef Pinlac
Ali Coleman
Nic Holler
Kevin Farley
Shiela Jamison
Special thanks:
·New York City Mayor Bill de Blasio
·NYS Governor Andrew Cuomo
·Manhattan Borough President Gale Brewer
·City Council Member Carolina Rivera
·NYC Cultural Affairs Commissioner Tom Finkelpearl, Assistant Commissioner Kathleen Hughes and Program Officer Alana Dapena Fraiz
·Community Boards 2 and 3
·NYC & Co Foundation
·NYPD Lt Christopher Cheng and Sgt Patrick McGuire, 9th Precinct Det. Jaime Herandez
·NYC Department for the Aging
·New York State Council on the Arts
·Lower Manhattan Cultural Council
·NYC Parks & Recreation Director Claudia Pepe, District Supervisor Terese Flores, Deputy Director Venus Melo (Citywide)
·NYC Dept of Sanitation Superintendent Joseph Signoril  
·NYC Dept of Transportation Event Coordinators Michael Callery, Ivory Henderson-Robb and G.I.S. / Events Coordinator Shuan Bruney
Dance Parade
graciously acknowledges
our 2020 Sponsors and Partners:


Dear Friends of dance,
February is here and will end on leap year day, the 29th--And that's the day we'll be leaping to the dance floor with our Season 14 Launch Party LIFT OFF!  A great lineup and ambiance as we return to the Taj to celebrate all the work that's gone into creating our season...We'll be honored by our 2020 Grand Marshal DJ Liquid Todd (Sirius Satellite Radio host) taking us for a musical journey as well as performances by Grand Marshal David Dorfman and Sarina Jain among others. Hope to see you!
May the dance warm your soul!

Greg Miller
Executive Director

Dancer: Director Greg Miller at the 13th Annual Dance Parade 5/18/19, photo by Totally Cool ® Richard Renda

Season 14 Launch Party: LIFT OFF!!

Show your support for Dance Parade—and be a part of a very special evening!
Following a meeting for Parade Group Coordinators (4:30pm) we'll light up the beautiful TAJ lounge with dance & "Taste of Dance Parade Performances"

Headlining the May 16, 2020 parade are Grand Marshals who are accomplished in the field of dance:
Modern Dance choreographer David Dorfman, world renowned dance artist Princess Lockerooo, Masala Bhangra pioneer Sarina Jain and SiriusXM Radio DJ Liquid Todd.
They’re all innovators in their respective genres of dance,” notes Dance Parade’s Executive Director, Greg Miller. “Each year we select people we want to honor for their contributions to the field of dance artistry.”
 Check out our COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT Programs -- Making a Difference!

Dance Parade’s Community Engagement Programs allow participants of all ages – from schools to community and senior centers – to discover their own innate capacity for the communication of ideas, thoughts, and feelings through the medium of dance.
All participants in Dance Parade’s Community Engagement Programs have the unique opportunity to dance alongside their teaching artists in our annual parade on Broadway and Festival in May!
On Friday February 14th, Carlye Eckert, our Julliard trained Community Engagement Director spent Valentines Day with our Teaching Artists showing them some love by sharing with them resources, strategies and tactics to further deliver quality education for our schools, senior centers and recreation centers.

If your school or community center is interested in one of our programs or if you are interested in becoming one of our Teaching Artists, contact our
Community Engagement Director Carlye Eckert at

It'll be here before ya know it...
photo credit: House Coalition Float

photo credit: Josef Pinlac, artists Dwana Smallwood Performing Arts Center's Teen Ensemble

photo credit: Suzie Samuel, artists Folk Dance Club Kaleidoscope

   photo credit Robert Dea; Artists Reshmi Nair

photo credit: Richard Renda, artist from Webster Hall

Dance Parade New York is a 501(c)3 Non-Profit Organization

       #DanceParadeNYC      @danceparadenyc       #DanceWithoutBorders   www.DanceParade.Org