Maison Neuve

Release 'Joan'


Release Date: 28th Nov 2011
Label: Talitres
01. Prophet
02. The Wrong Class
03. Under Skies Of Fire
04. Victor
05. Sweet Soul
06. Au Large De La Ville
07. Jojo
08. Humble Hearts
09. Touched In The Heart
10. Lizzy In The Sea
11. L'Attraction Terrestre
Maison Neuve - Guillaume Faure (vocals, guitar), Benoit Pourgaton (guitar), Thierry Leviez (drums), Johan Harnsten (saxophone, keyboard) - are a band who love guitars, drums, organ, sax, paid jobs, insomnia and Paris.
Brought up on the folk music of places like Rodez, Stockholm, Toulouse or the Landes, whilst dreaming of Bossa Nova, Calypso and Rock'n'Roll, they have a feeling for sentimental excitement and wildlife, big cities and true love.
Maison Neuve's debut combines the influence of music's tragic heroes and idealists over the years - from the post-punk of Lizzy Mercier-Descloux, the Brazilian tropicalism of Nara Leao and The Walkmen's electric crusade. All honed in on Maison Rouge's expressive songwriting skills with minimal arrangements and a clarity of pop vision faintly echoing Leonard Cohen's Songs of Love and Hate.
The human emotions reflected on JOAN is matched only by the sobriety of music used to bring them to life: Drums are dry, guitars are black and melodies majestic.
Underpinned by vocals (sung in both English and French) illustrating the band's pensive, monochromatic stories of city life, nomadism, faith and love, despair and childhood, Maison Neuve express emotion with stark grandeur.
Gold Star PR, Wyastone Business Park, Wyastone Leys, Monmouth, NP25 3SR
email: website:
TEL: 01600 892 690

Powered by