Featuring Jarvis Cocker, Four Tet, Dan Deacon, Rustie, Bear In Heaven, No Age, Owen Pallett, Califone, Gang Gang Dance, Yacht & Many More
As previously announced, Everything is New is the invigorating international outreach project created by Transgressive North in aid of Dalit “untouchable” children in southeast India. It embodies the sum of 7 years of work, over several continents, with over 1,000 contributors, all working for free. Proceeds from the project go to the charity Scottish Love in Action which feeds, clothes, houses, educates and provides medical care for over 500 children by funding the Light of Love Home and School in southeast India.
Everything is New consists of two separate music releases out 20th January 2014 – Marram’s Sun Choir featuring Jarvis Cocker, Owen Pallett, doseone, White Hinterland and Margaret Bennett, and BOATS by various artists including Four Tet, Dan Deacon, Bear in Heaven, Califone, Deerhoof, El Guincho, Gang Gang Dance, Lucky Dragons, Julian Lynch, Max Tundra, No Age, The Ruby Suns, Rustie, Son Lux, Sun Airway, A Sunny Day in Glasgow, Taken By Trees, Jamie Stewart (Xiu Xiu), YACHT, and many more. Both releases feature the voices of Light of Love Children's Choir, which is made up of the voices of the children from the Light of Love Home and School. 
Transgressive North have given glimpses into these two release via tracks by Four Tet and Rustie, as well as a Marram song featuring Owen Pallett. Today, they share with the world YACHT’s contribution to the BOATS compilation.
Say Jamie Chambers and Mike Brogan Directors of Transgressive North,“We LOVE Icarus Complex and are thrilled that YACHT, one of our absolute favourite bands, are part of the Everything is New project.  When we first handed out the samples from the Sun Choir album to all our magnificent BOATS contributors, we asked them to make whatever music they wanted, but to think about what the kids might like to hear themselves singing, hinting that the kids like to DANCE... 
So on that front, Jona [Bechtolt] did us, and the children of the Light of Love Children's Home PROUD. The kids went crazy for Icarus Complex when they heard it at our dance party on December 31st 2012, and danced so hard that the staff at the home started to worry they had a riot on their hands!”
  • WATCH: ‘Boatsss’ by RUSTIE via YouTube: 
  • LISTEN: ‘Boatsss’ by RUSTIE via soundcloud:
  • LISTEN  ‘With Us Instead’ by MARRAM (feat. Owen Pallet) via Soundcloud:
  • LISTEN: "Gillie Amma, I Love You" by Four Tet -
  • WATCH: Everything Is New Project video -
MORE ABOUT The Everything Is New Project
Sun Choir by Edinburgh-based band Marram is an exuberant celebration of global community and cross-cultural friendship featuring  Jarvis Cocker, Owen Pallett, doseone, Irvine Welsh, Margaret Bennett and White Hinterland singing alongside the Light of Love Children's Choir. Recorded over 6 years in 3 different continents, each track displays a towering symphonic ambition, featuring the voices of the Light of Love Children's Choir among 200 instruments, including full orchestras and 1000-voice choirs.
BOATS is a 29-track double album featuring exclusive tracks from Four Tet, Gang Gang Dance, No Age, Dan Deacon, Bear in Heaven, Rustie, Son Lux, YACHT, Califone, Jamie Stewart (Xiu Xiu), Sun Airway, Taken by Trees, Capybara, Deerhoof, doseone, El Guincho, Keepaway, Lucky Dragons, Julian Lynch, Matthewdavid, Max Tundra, Physical Forms, Ramona Falls, The Ruby Suns, rRoxymore, Slanter, A Sunny Day in Glasgow, and White Hinterland. Each individual act used samples of the Light of Love Children’s Choir, recorded for Marram’s Sun Choir, to create a new song. As a result, BOATS is a diverse and kaleidoscopic concept-album with the children's voices at its core.
The Everything is New Project grew from a dialogue between the artists of the Scottish-based arts collective Transgressive North (TN), and the charity, Scottish Love in Action (SLA). In 2006, Transgressive North member Jenny Chambers had visited the SLA-funded Light of Love Children's Home in Tuni (Andhra Pradesh, southeast India) and found it an intensely positive institution deserving serious engagement and investment. Jenny convinced artists in the Transgressive North to enter a dialogue with SLA and collectively, the TN found they were deeply compelled by the plight of Dalit “untouchable” children. The notion of “untouchability” - that some children might be told they were less valuable than others - inspired the TN to develop the Everything is New Project as a vehicle to empower and support the children of the Light of Love Children's Home. The founding idea was to use the cultural forms which the children themselves found the most meaningful - popular music and cinema - to build funds and awareness in a project in which the children would participate. The project would attempt to counter any inherited preconceptions the children might have about their own value and legitimacy by giving them the opportunity to “star” in music and film works specifically designed to celebrate and empower their identities and means of expression. 

01. Icarus Hope Choir
02. Amma
03. What If We (feat. Jarvis Cocker)
04. We Fly a Kite (feat. Margaret Bennett)
05. With Us Instead (feat. Owen Pallett)
06. Valuables (Intro)
07. Valuables (feat. doseone and Irvine Welsh)
08. The Butterfly, The Moon (feat. White Hinterland)
09. Seed I (Root, Shoot)
10. Seed II (Flare)
11. Falling From The Sun (feat. Jarvis Cocker and Margaret Bennett)
01. Boatsss Rustie
02. You, The Living Max Tundra
03. Weight In Song doseone
04. Like A Dove White Hinterland
05. In Love This Time Taken By Trees
06. Angelo Capybara
07. On The Line Ramona Falls
08. My Father's Children Son Lux
09. Music Will Change The World Matthewdavid
10. You Can Talk The Ruby Suns
11. Birds Song No Age
12. Play The Hand Deerhoof
13. Those Mountains Are God's Teeth Califone
14. Gillie Amma, I Love You Four Tet
01. Glace Voices Dan Deacon
02. Between Suns Lucky Dragons
03. Future's Just Ahead High Places
04. You're Silk Kepaway
05. Icarus Complex YACHT
06. Botes El Guincho
07. Blue City-Sun City Sun Airway
08. Ask Iru rRoxymore
09. Hey Tiger! A Sunny Day in Glasgow
10. The Green  Bear In Heaven
11. Sarsaparilla Slanter
12. Upside Dawn Gang Gang Dance
13. Naava Julian Lynch
14. Sound Lie Physical Forms
15. Transgressor Marram
  • Everything Is New
  • Transgressive North
  • Scottish Love in Action 
  • Marram
  • VIDEO: Everything is New Project Mini Documentary
  • MP3: FOUR TET 'Gillie Amma, I Love You’
  • VIDEO: RUSTIE ‘Boatsss’
  • MP3: RUSTIE ‘Boatsss’
  • MP3: MARRAM (feat. Owen Pallet)
Nita Keeler
Gold Star PR
Wyastone Business Park, Wyastone Leys, Monmouth, NP25 3SR
Tel: 01600 892 690


Powered by