Winner of the 2010 Perugia Press Prize
for a first or second book of poetry by a woman

Each Crumbling House
by  Melody S. Gee
How is lineage influenced by immigration, culture, and language?  In what ways do expectations, ideas, and acts of inheritance haunt us?  In Each Crumbling House, Melody Gee writes about the fractious, disappointing, and also enriching experience of being first-generation Asian American. Gee asks about inheriting a language that isn’t hers and a culture that died during the Chinese Cultural Revolution, while she tangles with the loss of her mother’s culture, food, history, and home.  Written with precision of line, image, and syntax, these restrained lyric poems invite and reward the reader with their grace, and stand out for their historical and emotional interweaving.
Melody S. Gee lives in St. Louis, Missouri, and teaches writing at Southwestern Illinois College.   This is her first book.
Each Crumbling House is due to be released in September 2010. 
The Perugia Press Prize is given annually for a first or second unpublished poetry collection by a woman.  The prize is $1000 and publication by Perugia Press. Visit for complete guidelines.
Finalists and Semi-Finalists
Finalists:      Susanna Childress, Entering the House of Awe
                       Danielle Cadena Deulen, Lovely Asunder

Semi-Finalists: Shannon Amidon, The Garden After; Joanne Diaz, Violin; Emari DiGiorgio, Hot Bullets; Mary Kaiser, The Paradiso Shuffle; Christina Lovin, A Stirring in the Dark; Beth M. Martinelli, A Quiet Room; Barbara Paparazzo, The Corridor of Lost Steps; Anna Ross, In the Room Next Door; Bethany Schultz Hurst, Birds, Disappearing; Joan I. Siegel, Soundings; Eva Skrande, My Mother’s Cuba; Annette Spaulding-Convy, In Broken Latin
More Perugia Offerings
Pulling It All Together:   
Preparing Your Poetry Manuscript for Publication
Personal Manuscript Reviews by Perugia Press Editor Susan Kan. 
Read More.
Perugia Press, PO Box 60364, Florence, MA  01062