How Can Transposons Accelerate Your Genomic Research?

Webinars in Molecular Biology and Next Gen Sequencing to make your time in the lab more successful.

Wednesday | March 8, 2017

8 AM CST (9 Eastern, 6 am Pacific) Register Now
11 AM CST (Noon Eastern, 9 am Pacific) 
Register Now
Have you ever generated libraries of mutants or gene knockouts, but struggled to get complete representation in your library? Do you need techniques to help easily identify essential genes or regulatory elements? Perhaps you have struggled with de novo sequencing of large genomes, or rescuing plasmid DNA from environmental samples in metagenomics screens? In this webinar, we will talk about some of the challenges inherent in these applications, and how transposons, or “jumping genes”, can help. We will introduce EZ-Tn5 transposon mutagenesis as a well-known, easy-to-use system that employs an engineered, hyperactive Tn5 Transposase enzyme that is 100 times more active than the native Tn5 transposase. We will discuss how transposons are used by many researchers for metagenomics, bacterial strain development and gene knockout mutagenesis in vitro and in vivo. We will also present techniques for introducing mutations in bacterial genomes using simple electroporation, “rescuing” non-coliform plasmid DNA from environmental organisms, and creating custom transposons using PCR for novel applications. In addition, we will address customer questions and provide troubleshooting tips.
 
Key Learning Objectives
  • Learn how transposons randomly insert into DNA
  • Discover how transposons can speed your results for multiple microbial genetics applications
  • Explore the differences between in vitro and in vivo applications
  • Learn how to design and use your own transposable sequences
  • Maximize your success with tips and tricks from the experts
 
 
 

   Cambio Ltd 
  1 The Irwin Centre, Scotland Road, Dry Drayton, Cambridge, CB23 8AR
tel: 01954 210200
 fax: 01954 210300
 

 email

 web
 
@CambioLtd