Eccentric Soul:
The Dynamic Label
Release Date: 1st April 2013
Eccentric Soul: The Dynamic Label is Numero Group’s first Eccentric Soul outing of the year. Bringing us straight into the dusty heart of the Lone Star State, as they delve into the oeuvre of San Antonio’s Abe Epstein. A local enterprising “hit-man” and realtor with an unrelenting taste for success, Epstein couldn’t turn down any opportunity to track a promising young act or to sell a fine parcel of land, and this release is just the tip of a massive trove of music that he produced. Dynamic’s output is the most accessible and accomplished of the music that flowed out of Epstein Enterprises during the 1960s.

Alamo City’s Abe Epstein caught the recording bug early on, cutting his first and only record “My Dream Girl”, a passable doo-wop number, as Al Epp and the Pharaohs in 1959. Over the next decade, his focus shifted to the other side of the dotted line, working as a manager, producer and label owner, releasing hundreds of records on over a dozen labels, subtlety crafting San Antonio’s “Westside Sound” in the process. After his first taste of national success with Tejano combo Rene y Rene in 1964, Epstein’s efforts to crossover culminated in the formation of Dynamic Records. Focusing on the growing soul genre, Epstein scoured San Antonio and the rest of Texas for groups that possessed even a semblance of talent. Then in 1966, Dynamic’s flagship outfit, the Commands, marched “No Time For You” to the middle of the charts with performance chops honed jet-sharp by the demanding Air Force Base circuit. That take-off paved a runway for 20 more soulful Dynamic singles over an impressive 30-month campaign. Epstein’s open-door policy brought a diverse cross-section of Texas talent into his General McMullan Drive studio, where whites, blacks, and Latinos suited up for service in whichever new group the call of duty asked for.

Included in this 2LP/CD collection are Dynamic’s most intriguing sides, featuring cuts by the Commands, the Tonettes, Little Jr. Jesse & the Teardrops, Don & the Doves, Willie Cooper & the Webs, Bobby Blackmon & His Soul Express, and Doc & Sal


01. Hey It's Love - Commands
02. Give Your Love To Me -Little Jr. Jesse & The Tear Drops
03. I Gotta Know - Tonettes
04. Can't Get You Offa My Mind - Doc & Sal
05. I've Got Love For My Baby - Commands
06. You Don't Love Me - Willie Cooper & The Webs
07. Ain't No Big Thing - Little Jr. Jesse & The Tear Drops
08. No Time For You - Commands
09. Little Girl Blue - Webs
10. My Heart Can Feel The Pain - Tonettes
11. Cry And Wonder Why - Doc & Sal
12. Don't Be Affraid To Love - Commands
13. I Can't Take It No More - Willie Cooper & The Webs
14. Together - Don & The Doves
15. Don't Ever Hurt Me - Webs
16. Must Be Alright - Commands
17. She's Gotta Have Soul - Bobby Blackmon & The Soul Express
18. Laughing To Keep From Crying - Doc & Sal
19. Try Loving Me - Webs
20. Too Late To Cry - Commands
21. My Dream - Doc & Sal
22. Can't Let You Go - Webs
23. A Way To Love Me - Commands
24. It Keeps Rainin' - Little Jr. Jesse & The Tear Drops
25. I Need You - Don & The Doves
26. You'll Find Another - Bobby Blackmon & The Soul Express
27. Around The Go-Go - Commands

Gold Star PR,
Wyastone Business Park,
Wyastone Leys, Monmouth, NP25 3SR

Powered by